SharePoint 2013 Designer Workflow and lists with versioning

I had a list with versioning enabled where user would enter their notes into a field with Append Changes to Existing Text option turned on. I had to create a view where they could see only the latest notes. I decided to create a workflow that would copy a value from the notes field into a hidden field that would contain only the latest notes. The workflow was set to run when an item was added or changed. I created a workflow but somehow the value in the notes field was always empty and my hidden field was not getting populated. After some digging around, I finally noticed a new option in the workflow settings:

“Automatically update the workflow status to the current stage name”.

workflow and lists with versioning enabled

workflow and lists with versioning enabled

When I turned it off, the workflow would work as expected. What was happening was, when this option was on, at the beginning of each stage the workflow would update the list item with the stage name and a value in the notes field would be set to empty.
This is something to be aware of when we have a list with versioning enabled. SPD 2013 workflows with default options will create a version for every stage.
Very simple when you know where to look!